ISA Leadership Awards

Recognizing leaders since 2012

ISA Leadership Awards are presented annually to individuals and organizations in recognition of outstanding work on behalf of Iowa soybean farmers and the farming profession. The 2019 recipients will be recognized Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018 during ISA’s annual conference in Ankeny.

“Improving the competitiveness of Iowa’s soybeans would not be possible without the outstanding commitment of farmers and industry professionals. Nobody does what they do for the recognition. That’s why it’s up to us to find those who go above and beyond and make sure they know they are appreciated.”

— ISA President Lindsay Griener, 2012 New Leader Award recipient

View past recipients

2018 ISA Leadership Award Winners

Legacy of Leadership Award | Mark Jackson, Rose Hill

Along with his wife JoAnn and son Mike, Jackson grows soybeans and corn and manages a wean-to-finish swine operation. He has served ISA since 2003 on various committees and as a past President. He served as an American Soybean Association director and has held several other leadership positions.

This award is presented to an ISA member who has established a history of leadership and has taken an active role in advancing the goals of ISA.

New Leader Award | Sam Showalter, Hampton

Showalter is a fifth-generation farmer, raising soybeans, corn, hogs and cattle with family on their Franklin County farm. An active ISA District Advisory Council member, he was also one of 10 participants in the United Soybean Board’s 2016 See for Yourself Program to the Panama Canal and Costa Rica.

This award is presented to an ISA member who has recently grown their involvement in ISA programing and shown outstanding leadership skills in their community and/or state.

Environmental Leader Award | Nick Meier, La Porte City

Meier is a long-time conservationist in Black Hawk County and recognized environmental leader for farmers across the state. He practices a wide range of conservation efforts in conjunction with ISA’s On-Farm Network® — a program he considers instrumental to the success on his farm.

This award recognizes an ISA member who is committed to practices that improve environmental performance through work with the ISA Environmental Programs & Services or the On-Farm Network.

Friend of the Iowa Soybean Farmer Award | Iowa Rep. Helen Miller

In her eighth term in the Iowa House of Representatives, Miller serves on the Agriculture House Committee and the Ag/Natural Resources Appropriation Subcommittee. She founded the Urban-Ag Academy  in 2011 to inform legislators from non-ag districts of the issues affecting rural Iowans.

This award recognizes an elected leader, reporter or other ISA partner who has shown a deep understanding of the agricultural issues and supported Iowa soybean farmers through their actions.

Innovator in Production Research Award | Lindsay Inc. 

Lindsay Inc. — comprised of Dennis and Barb Lindsay and their two sons, Brian and Jeff, and their families — has conducted many nitrogen and fertilizer trials through the On-Farm Network and recently participated in research examining nitrogen modeling, seed inoculant and fungicide trials.

This award recognizes an individual, organization or company leading the way in the use of precision agriculture technology and worked to discover, validate and manage practices to improve profitability.

Rising Star Award | Andrey Shirbroun, Farmersburg

Shirbroun has been actively involved with ISA to discover the importance of research and data collection, including participating in a rootworm beetle survey and collecting tile water samples from his family’s farm. Shirbroun plans pursue a career in agronomy retail. 

This award and $1,000 education stipend is presented to a high school senior or college student. 

Download the application

Advocate for Iowa Agriculture | NEW in 2019!

This award recognizes an individual, organization or company who effectively and accurately tells the story of modern agriculture and actively builds bridges between Iowa farmers and consumers.

Questions? Contact Lauren Houska, ISA communications specialist, at or 515-334-1040.