ISA Leadership Awards

Recognizing leaders since 2012

ISA Leadership Awards are presented annually to individuals and organizations in recognition of outstanding work on behalf of Iowa soybean farmers and the farming profession. 

“Improving the competitiveness of Iowa’s soybeans would not be possible without the outstanding commitment of farmers and industry professionals. Nobody does what they do for recognition. That’s why it’s up to us to find those who go above and beyond and make sure they know they are appreciated.” — Lindsay Greiner, past ISA President and 2012 New Leader Award recipient

Past ISA Leadership Award Recipients


Legacy of Leadership: This award is presented to an ISA member who has established a history of leadership and has taken an active role in advancing the goals of ISA.

2012: Family of the late Curt Raasch, Odeboldt
2013: William Merschman, Merschman Seeds, West Point
2014: Family of Raymond Heck, Perry
2015: Curt Sindergard, Rolfe
2016: Roy Bardole, Rippey
2017: Rick and Martha Kimberley, Bondurant
2018: Mark Jackson, Rose Hill
2019: Ed Ulch, Solon

Rising Star: This award is presented to a high school senior or currently enrolled college student who plans to remain involved in agriculture in the future through professional or personal activities.

2012: Kendra Wuthrich, Bloomfield
2013: Lexi Marek, Washington
2014: Kolton Greiner, Keota
2015: Macy Marek, Washington
2016: Vance Ohnemus, Milo
2017: Kaleb Miller, Lacona
2018: Andrey Shirbroun, Farmersburg
2019: Erin Chalupa, Keota

New Leader: This award is presented to an ISA member who has recently grown their involvement in ISA programming and shown outstanding leadership skills.

2012: Lindsay Greiner, Keota
2013: Tom Wall, Iowa City
2014: Kellie Blair, Dayton
2015: Julie Kenney, Nevada
2016: Brent Renner, Klemme
2017: Andrew Lauver, Lake City
2018: Sam Showalter, Hampton
2019: Klint and Aimee Bissell, Bedford

Environmental Leader: This award recognizes an ISA member who has demonstrated a commitment to practices that improve environmental performance through work with the ISA research teams.

2012: Robert Ballou, Monticello
2013: David Ausberger, Jefferson
2014: Steve Berger, Wellman
2015: Tim Smith, Eagle Grove
2016: Mike Bravard, Jefferson
2017: Rob Stout, Washington
2018: Nick Meier, LaPorte City
2019: Brent Larson, Fort Dodge

Innovator in Production Research: This award recognizes an individual, organization or company who has shown outstanding leadership in the use of precision agriculture tools and technology and worked to discover, validate and effectively manage practices to improve profitability.

2017: Steve Killpack, Beebeetown
2018: Lindsay Inc. (Dennis, Barb, Brian, and Jeff Lindsay)
2019: Denny Friest, Radcliffe

Friend of the Iowa Soybean Farmer: This award recognizes an elected leader, reporter or other ISA partner who has supported Iowa soybean farmers through their actions and efforts.

2012: Iowa Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds
2013: Ken Anderson, Brownfield Radio Network
2014: Dr. John Pesek, Iowa State University
2015: Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey, Spirit Lake
2016: Darcy Maulsby, Yetter
2017: Iowa Governor Terry Branstad
2018: Iowa Rep. Helen Miller
2019: Joel DeJong, Iowa State University Extension & Outreach

Advocate for Agriculture: This award recognizes an individual, organization or company that effectively and accurately tells the story of modern agriculture and actively builds bridges between Iowa farmers and consumers.

2019: Kevin and Julie Van Manen, Kellogg