Ballots will be arriving soon

Farmer election ballots will be arriving soon

June 13, 2024 | Kriss Nelson

Iowa soybean farmers fund and lead the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) and the time is now to "lend your voice" by voting in the 2024 ISA Board of Directors election.

Iowa soybean farmers will soon receive the official ballot for the ISA board of directors election.

ISA Producer Services Manager Bre Wagner says the 22 farmer-director ISA board manages and conducts the business of ISA.

"They oversee budget and programming by helping to steer the initiatives in which farmers' checkoff dollars are invested," says Wagner. "We encourage you to lend your voice, get involved, and make a decision on who will represent your district and all Iowa soybean farmers."

Robb Ewoldt farms near Davenport in Scott County. He is currently serving as a farmer-director in District 6. He previously served as the president of ISA and will step down from his seat on the board in September after completing the maximum three, three-year terms allowed.

Ewoldt says he often hears from farmers who are unsure how their checkoff dollars are being invested. One way to know is by taking an active role and voting in the upcoming ISA board of directors election.

"These directors are responsible for investing checkoff dollars," he says. "The goal is to increase demand for and promote our products and improve farming efficiency and profitability. This is why it's important for farmers to take an interest in voting during this election."

2024 ISA candidates

Click on these links to learn more about the candidates running at-large or in your crop reporting district.

District 1 candidates are Neil Krummen of Linn Grove and incumbent Brent Swart of Spencer

District 2 candidates are Gabe Fiscus of Goldfield, Shaylyn Long of Dows and Mike Yegge of Lake Mills.

District 3 candidates are Scott Frye of Independence and Amanda Tupper of Ionia

District 6 candidates are Brian Strasser of Homestead and Matthew Willimack of DeWitt.

District 7 candidates are Alan Zellmer of Atlantic and incumbent, Lee Brooke of Clarinda.

District 9 candidates are Jeff Cuddeback of Washington and Jeff Ellis of Donnellson.

At Large candidates are Rob Vos of Pella and Jack Boyer of Reinbeck.

How to vote

If you live in District 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, or 9: You’re electing one ISA director in your crop district and one At-Large director.

If you live in District 4, 5, or 8: You’re electing one At-Large director.

1. Ballot(s):

Complete your ballot(s) and enclose it in the official ballot envelope. Do not enclose anything else in this envelope.

2. Soybean Producers Affidavit and Farmer Member Form:

Complete the affidavit and activate or confirm your farmer membership on the outside of the official ballot envelope. This is required and qualifies you as a voter.

3. Place the official ballot envelope in the enclosed return envelope.

To qualify, all ballots must be postmarked no later than July 31, 2024.

If you market at least 250 bushels of soybeans annually and have not received your ballot by mail by July 15, call ISA at 515-251-8640.

For more information, contact Wagner at or 515-669-7963.