Newly elected ISA executive committee stands for group

The 2023-24 Iowa Soybean Association executive directors: (left to right) Jeff Frank (Lake View), treasurer; Brent Swart (Spencer), president-elect; Suzanne Shirbroun (Farmersburg), ISA president; Brent Renner (Klemme), at-large; and Tom Adam (Harper), secretary. (Credit: Iowa Soybean Association/Joclyn Bushman)

Iowa Soybean Farmers Elect New Leadership to Bolster Demand, Expand Opportunities

September 8, 2023 | Brock Johnston

Ankeny, IA – Farmer-leaders of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) elected Suzanne Shirbroun of Farmersburg as president during its September board meeting held in Ames. The association’s 22 volunteer farmer directors represent the state’s nine crop reporting districts in overseeing the management and allocation of soybean checkoff and non-checkoff resources.

Shirbroun was first elected as a District 3 director in 2016. She and her husband Joe manage a sixth-generation diversified row crop and seed business in Clayton County. They have been long-time participants in ISA production research activities and advocates for the soybean checkoff and agriculture.

“It’s a privilege to have the opportunity to represent Iowa’s soybean farmers in this role,” said Shirbroun, who most recently served as ISA president-elect. “From market development to international trade, increased demand for high-quality soy is driving farmer optimism heading into the new year. As stewards of soybean checkoff dollars, ISA board members will continue advancing issues directly benefiting Iowa soybean farmers.”

Four farmer-leaders were also appointed to serve on the association’s Executive Committee, including:

  • Brent Swart, President-Elect – Spencer
  • Jeff Frank, Treasurer – Lake View
  • Tom Adam, Secretary – Harper
  • Brent Renner, At-Large – Klemme

Directors are chosen by Iowa soybean farmers through the ISA election in July and take office in September. Members voted for two farmers from their crop reporting district and four farmers to serve as at-large directors.

Newly elected farmers who will serve three-year terms on the board are: Paul Kassel, Spencer (District 1); Sam Showalter, Hampton (District 2); Corey Goodhue, Carlisle (District 5); Aimee Bissell, Bedford (At-Large); and Sharon Chism, Huxley (At-Large).

ISA directors also re-elected Morey Hill of Madrid (Boone County); Pat Swanson of Ottumwa (Wapello County); and Dave Walton of Wilton (Muscatine County); as directors on the American Soybean Association (ASA) board. Immediate past president Randy Miller of Lacona (Warren County) and Tom Adam (Keokuk County) will join the ASA board for first terms beginning in December.


Funded by the soybean checkoff

The Iowa Soybean Association ( is “Driven To Deliver” increased soybean demand through market development and new uses, farmer-focused research and results, timely information and know-how and policy initiatives enabling farmers and the industry to flourish. Founded in 1964 by farmers to serve farmers, ISA is governed by a board of 22 farmers to advocate on behalf of the state’s 40,000 soybean producers, including more than 15,000 ISA farmer members and industry stakeholders.