Photo: Iowa Soybean Association

Photo: Iowa Soybean Association

Iowa Farmers Seek to Guide the Future of Soy with Director Elections

July 5, 2022 | Brock Johnston

Ankeny, Iowa – The Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) is driven to deliver insights, tools, activities and information to improve the competitiveness and profitability of the state’s soybean growers. A feat only made possible by the collective voice and checkoff investment of Iowa’s soybean farmers.

This July, ISA encourages the state’s 40,000 soybean growers to participate in the board of directors election. Iowa farmers who market at least 250 bushels of soybeans annually are eligible to vote in the annual election. Ballots and additional instructions have been mailed and must be postmarked for return by July 31.

“We encourage farmers to lend their voices and see their input reflected in the work ISA does,” said Robb Ewoldt, ISA president and soybean farmer from Davenport. “When we elect farmers to the ISA board, we are choosing leaders tasked with deciding how the checkoff dollars of Iowa soybean growers are best utilized.”

The ISA board consists of two directors representing each of Iowa’s nine crop reporting districts and four At-Large. Directors serve for three years and are eligible for three consecutive terms. Farmers on this year’s ballot represent ISA Districts 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and At-Large. Two director elections are taking place in District 8.

  • District 3: Rick Juchems (Plainfield); Loran Steinlage (West Union)
  • District 4: Marty Danzer (Carroll); James Hepp (Rockwell City)
  • District 5: Pat Murken (Story City); Dave Struthers (Collins)
  • District 6: Dave Walton (Wilton); Joshua Henik (Mount Vernon)
  • District 8: Randy Miller (Lacona); Doug Kent (Corydon)
  • District 8: Warren Bachman (Osceola); Matthew Bradley (Creston)
  • At-Large: Brent Renner (Klemme); Jack Boyer (Reinbeck)

“We thank all candidates for their willingness to volunteer, step up and lead,” said Ewoldt. “Farmer involvement remains critical to the health and vibrancy of ISA and our industry for years to come.”

To request a ballot or learn more, contact your Producer Services team here.


Funded by the soybean checkoff

The Iowa Soybean Association ( is “Driven To Deliver” increased soybean demand through market development and new uses, farmer-focused research and results, timely information and know-how and policy initiatives enabling farmers and the industry to flourish. Founded in 1964 by farmers to serve farmers, ISA is governed by a board of 22 farmers to advocate on behalf of the state’s 40,000 soybean producers, including more than 15,000 ISA farmer members and industry stakeholders.