Soybeans emerging in a field

(Photo: Iowa Soybean Association / Joclyn Bushman)

Guide the Growth of Soy by Voting in Director Elections

June 20, 2024 | Brock Johnston

Ankeny, Iowa — The Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) is driven to deliver insights, tools, activities and information to ensure the long-term competitiveness and profitability of the state’s soybean growers. This is a feat only made possible by the collective voice and checkoff investment of Iowa’s soybean farmers.

This July, ISA encourages the state’s 40,000 soybean growers to participate in the board of directors election. Iowa farmers who market at least 250 bushels of soybeans annually are eligible to vote in the annual election. Ballots and instructions have been mailed and must be postmarked for return by July 31.

“We encourage farmers to lend their voices and see their input reflected in ISA’s work,” said Suzanne Shirbroun, ISA president and soybean farmer from Farmersburg. “When we elect farmers to the ISA board, we are choosing leaders tasked with deciding how soybean checkoff investments are best utilized.”

The ISA board consists of two directors representing each of Iowa’s nine crop reporting districts and four At-Large positions. Directors serve for three years and are eligible for three consecutive terms. Farmers on this year’s ballot represent ISA Districts 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9 and one At-Large race.

  • District 1: Neil Krummen (Linn Grove); Brent Swart (Spencer)
  • District 2: Gabe Fiscus (Goldfield); Shaylyn Long (Dows); Mike Yegge (Lake Mills)
  • District 3: Scott Frye (Independence); Amanda Tupper (Ionia)
  • District 6: Brian Strasser (Homestead); Matthew Willimack (DeWitt)
  • District 7: Alan Zellmer (Atlantic); Lee Brooke (Clarinda)
  • District 9: Jeff Cuddeback (Washington); Jeff Ellis (Donnellson)
  • At-Large: Rob Vos (Pella); Jack Boyer (Reinbeck)

“We thank all candidates for their willingness to volunteer, step up and lead,” said Shirbroun. “Farmer involvement is key to the future of ISA and our industry.”

Farmers who have not received a mailed ballot by June 30 should contact the Iowa Soybean Association at (515) 251-8620. Learn more about each candidate here.


Funded by the soybean checkoff

The Iowa Soybean Association ( is “Driven To Deliver” increased soybean demand through market development and new uses, farmer-focused research and results, timely information and know-how and policy initiatives enabling farmers and the industry to flourish. Founded in 1964 by farmers to serve farmers, ISA is governed by a board of 22 farmers to advocate on behalf of the state’s 40,000 soybean producers, including more than 15,000 ISA farmer members and industry stakeholders.