Photo: Joclyn Bushman/Iowa Soybean Association

The 2022-2023 Iowa Soybean Association executive directors: (left to right) Jeff Frank (Auburn), secretary; Tom Adam (Harper), at-large; Randy Miller (Lacona), ISA president; Suzanne Shirbroun (Farmersburg), president-elect; and Brent Swart (Spencer), treasurer. (Photo: Joclyn Bushman/Iowa Soybean Association)

Shirbroun of Farmersburg Elected Iowa Soybean Association President-Elect

September 13, 2022 | Brock Johnston

Ankeny, Iowa — The Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) board of directors elected Suzanne Shirbroun of Farmersburg as president-elect during its September meeting held in Ankeny.

Shirbroun was first elected as a District 3 director in 2016. She and her husband Joe manage a sixth-generation diversified row crop and seed business in Clayton County. They’ve been long-time participants in ISA production research activities and advocates for the soybean checkoff and agriculture.

“It’s a privilege to have the opportunity to represent Iowa’s soybean farmers in this capacity,” says Shirbroun who most recently served as ISA secretary. “From market development to international trade, increased demand for high-quality soy is driving farmer optimism heading into the new year. As stewards of soybean checkoff dollars, the ISA board will continue advancing issues directly benefiting Iowa soybean farmers.”

Also elected to one-year terms as ISA officers were: Brent Swart of Spencer (Clay County), treasurer; Jeff Frank of Auburn (Sac County), secretary; and Tom Adam of Harper (Keokuk County), at-large.

Randy Miller of Lacona (Warren County) was seated as ISA president after the gavel was handed off by immediate past president Robb Ewoldt of Davenport.

“Members of the executive committee are passionate, experienced and focused on a wide range of industry interests,” added Shirbroun. “Whether it’s soybean research, demand, or education, we look forward to growing opportunities for Iowa soybean farmers and positioning the oilseed and industry for continued success.”

ISA directors also re-elected Steph Essick of Dickens (Clay County); Morey Hill of Madrid (Boone County); and Dave Walton of Wilton (Muscatine County); as directors on the American Soybean Association (ASA) board. In addition, Pat Swanson of Ottumwa (Wapello County), will join the ASA board for a first term beginning in December.


Funded by the soybean checkoff

The Iowa Soybean Association ( is “Driven To Deliver” increased soybean demand through market development and new uses, farmer-focused research and results, timely information and know-how and policy initiatives enabling farmers and the industry to flourish. Founded in 1964 by farmers to serve farmers, ISA is governed by a board of 22 farmers to advocate on behalf of the state’s 40,000 soybean producers, including more than 15,000 ISA farmer members and industry stakeholders.