Photo: Joclyn Bushman/Iowa Soybean Association

Seven farmers, including six incumbents, have been elected to the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) board of directors. (Photo: Joclyn Bushman/Iowa Soybean Association)

7 Farmers Elected to Iowa Soybean Association Board of Directors

August 15, 2022 | Brock Johnston

Ankeny, Iowa – Iowa soybean farmers have elected seven directors to the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) board of directors. These directors join 15 others fulfilling their terms on the ISA board.

The association’s 22 volunteer farmer directors represent the state’s nine crop reporting districts in overseeing the management and allocation of soybean checkoff and non-checkoff resources.

Dave Struthers of Collins was elected District 5 director. New to the board, Struthers manages a row crop and livestock operation with his wife Elaine, brother Dan and nephew Jacob in southeast Story County. His passion for agriculture is demonstrated through active involvement with the Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Farm Bureau, Iowa Pork Producers Association and Story County Pork Producers Association. As a community leader, Dave also serves as the Collins Days Committee president and is involved in several local organizations.

“The experiences and relationships gained from other organizations put me in touch with many at the Iowa Soybean Association,” says Struthers. “I have had many field trials with the On-Farm Network, now the ISA Research Center for Farming Innovation. These interactions piqued my interest in ISA and the possibility of becoming a board member.”

Re-elected to three-year terms on the board were: Rick Juchems, Plainfield (District 3); Marty Danzer, Carroll (District 4); Dave Walton, Wilton (District 6); Warren Bachman, Osceola (District 8); Randy Miller, Lacona (District 8); and Brent Renner, Klemme (At-Large).

“Whether as a voter, candidate or both, we thank Iowa soybean farmers for engaging in this important process,” says Robb Ewoldt, ISA president and soybean farmer from Davenport. “As a farmer-led association, their election participation is vital to the continued success of our organization and industry. I encourage every soybean grower to engage with these leaders and get involved in the association funded via their soybean checkoff investment.”

Those continuing their service as ISA directors are: Chuck White, Spencer (District 1); Brent Swart, Spencer (District 1); April Hemmes, Hampton (District 2); Casey Schlichting, Clear Lake (District 2); Suzanne Shirbroun, Farmersburg (District 3); Jeff Frank, Auburn (District 4); and Morey Hill, Madrid (District 5).

Also: Scot Bailey, Anita (District 7); Lee Brooke, Clarinda (District 7); Pat Swanson, Ottumwa (District 9); Tom Adam, Harper (District 9); Tim Bardole, Rippey (At-Large); Steph Essick, Dickens (At-Large); and Lindsay Greiner, Keota (At-Large).

Joseph Hopper, ISA communications specialist, contributed to this story.


Funded by the soybean checkoff

The Iowa Soybean Association ( is “Driven To Deliver” increased soybean demand through market development and new uses, farmer-focused research and results, timely information and know-how and policy initiatives enabling farmers and the industry to flourish. Founded in 1964 by farmers to serve farmers, ISA is governed by a board of 22 farmers to advocate on behalf of the state’s 40,000 soybean producers, including more than 15,000 ISA farmer members and industry stakeholders.