Director Listing

ISA is governed by a board of volunteer farmer-directors elected by the state membership. Two directors are elected from each crop reporting district. Members also vote for four at-large directors. The 22 directors meet throughout the year to develop policies and programs.

Iowa also has six farmers who serve as national directors on the American Soybean Association’s board of directors, four who serve on the United Soybean Board and one farmer representative who serves on the National Biodiesel Board.

Board President

Click here for photo gallery

Rolland Schnell, President

District 5

Rolland Schnell of Newton along with his wife, Donna, farms soybeans, corn and does custom farming. He has two children and holds a degree in mechanical engineering from Iowa State University.

Schnell has a track record of positive impacts within ISA, giving most attention to budgeting by investing checkoff dollars wisely and standing behind priority issues affecting farmers, specifically research, demand and consumer perception of agriculture, to name a few.

In addition to his current position he has served as secretary, treasurer and president-elect of the 22-farmer board.

Schnell has completed multiple trade development trips, advocated for farmer-favored policy on the state and federal levels and continues to refine the budget allocation process to ensure each checkoff dollar is stretched for greatest impact.  

Rolland can be reached at email:

Executive Directors

  • View More Info
    Bill Shipley President-Elect District 7
  • View More Info
    Lindsay Greiner Treasurer At Large
  • View More Info
    Randy Souder Secretary District 4
  • View More Info
    Stephanie Essick At Large Exec Comm At Large

District 1

District 2

District 3

District 4

District 5

District 6

District 7

District 8

District 9

At Large